Northline Speedway Meeting 8 Review – 8th July 2023

By Scott Kernahan

Saturday 8th July saw the running of the Darwin Titles for both the Junior Sedans and the Dirt Karts.  A very healthy field of Junior Sedans greeted the starter which has been outstanding with some very entertaining racing over the last few meetings.  Wingless Sprintcars again showed up in huge numbers and are fine tuning for the Duel in the North followed by their support role in Chariots of Thunder.  Sprintcars had a field of 10 cars for the night as they roll on to Chariots.

Dirt Karts Tony Brown looked to be the one to beat for the Darwin Titles in the Dirt Kart section following another blistering ride in Heat 1.  Yazmin Brown recorded second place ahead of Bradley Fitchner.  Heat 2 was another T. Brown benefit this time ahead of Fitchner and Yazmin Brown.  The Feature race was to serve up a major upset after Tony Brown was relegated to rear of field being adjudicated as the cause of the mid race stoppage.  Brown was to blast his way back to battle for the lead however it was Michael Brown who claimed the Title win ahead of Tony and Yazmin coming home in 3rd place.  A quite visibly upset Tony Brown pleaded his case as he felt he had not caused the stoppage, believing he was on the receiving end of a bad decision however it was not to change the result.

Street Stocks – There was a marked change in the Street Stock universe with the Empire striking problems !  Justin Brumfield had a night to forget (other than the eskie) when he blew a diff in Heat 1 to render that car out for the night.  He was to however jump into the #3 car of James Ballantyne only to strip all the wheel studs off that one in Heat 3.  A rare seismic event for the champ which gave Jake Koivumaki and free reign to run amock on the night.  Koivumaki took out Heat 1 from Kane Lloyd and James Ballantyne and then lowered Brumfields colours in Head 2 with Lloyd home again in 3rd place.  Heat 3 was won by Jayke Budd after Koivumaki had an uncharacteristic mishap but recovered to come in 2nd place with Lloyd in 3rd.  But it was Koivumaki that won the chocolates again in the Feature race ahead of Lloyd and the rapidly improving Samantha Radfield recording a very well deserved 3rd place.

Sprintcars – The mighty winged warriors are continuing their stampede towards Chariots of Thunder with more fine tuning.  More interstaters are starting to arrive with this week Luke Dillon from South Australia filling in the driving duties in the Ekins Motorsport #11 Maxim car (normally driven by Matt Dumesny).  Unfortunately, Dumesny had contracted COVID following a visit to Bali so the 11th hour call was made and Dillion arrived to pilot the car.  Dillon fired the first shot in Hot Laps with a quick time of 12.836 (the only car in the 12 second bracket).  Last time out Feature Winner Benny J Atkinson claimed the first win in Heat 1 ahead of Kale Quinlan and Dillon in 3rd.  WA’s Mitch Wormall is finding form at the right time of the year to win Heat 2 from Quinlan and Dillon.  NT young flyer Hayden Brown missed Heat 3 due to a rock flying up in Heat 2 and breaking a coolant line fitting going into the motor.  Chris Harrison lead the way in Heat 3 from Victoria’s Jordyn Charge and Wormall.  The Feature race was a cracker over the 20 lap journey with Quinlan briefly taking the lead with 12 laps to go before a cut tyre ended his journey.  Benny J Atkinson was duelling with Mitch Wormall until he went down low on the slick track which had nothing and rotated the D2 machine, ending his race.  Wormall was to hold on for the win ahead of Dillon and Jordyn Charge home in third place.  Hayden Brown had a great race coming from the back of the pack to finish in 4th place.  Warrenne Ekins was happy with Luke Dillon’s appearance in his car saying that “Luke did a great job stepping in for the night and I appreciate his efforts.  We ran quick time in Hot Laps and then got some average draws in the Heats” says Ekins.  A combination of set up and driving errors and two fatal laps on the bottom of the track had the team on the back foot but then Dillon showed good speed in Heat 3.  Ekins continued with “a good position in the Feature race start but basically Luke looked after the car” said Ekins.

Wingless Sprintcars –   The battle between Zack Grimshaw and Jamie McInnes is becoming that of folklore at Northline Speedway.  The two are akin to Siamese twins and need to be separated, such is the closeness of their Feature Race contests this year. McInnes began proceedings with a win in Heat 1A ahead of Daniel Goldoni and SA’s Sharni Pitcher recording a great result in 3rd place.  Head 1B was won by Cameron Jaenke ahead of Bailey Jones and Zack Grimshaw in third.   Heat 2A saw good luck return to Matt Sealy after some wretched luck in the last couple of meetings whilst Josh Norman filled out second place from Daniel Dennis in 3rd.  McInnes was prominent in Heat 2B to show the field home ahead of Grimshaw and Jarrod Goldoni.  McInnes backed up in Heat 3A to record another win from Jaenke and Bailey Jones.  Grimshaw returned serve in Heat 3B ahead of Jarrod Goldoni and Sealy in for third place.  The Feature was again a showcase of the closeness and hardness of the Wingless Sprintcar division this year.  Out front it was Grimshaw and McInnes who again were separated by a rollie paper thickness to endure a race long battle for honours.  Grimshaw was to hold on to cross the line first with McInnes not far behind whilst Cameron Jaenke placed in third.

Junior Sedans  Victorian Jayden Lock has been throwing the gauntlet down to River Spitzbarth over the last couple of meetings, and it showed no signs of changing when Lock took out Heat 1A ahead of Spitzbarth and WA’s Hannah Tomkins claiming third spot.  Jessica Foley had a fine drive in Heat 1B to take out victory ahead of Victorian Pary Das and Harrison Turnbull chipping in for 3rd place.  Lock continued his stampede in Heat 2A to lead home Spitzbarth and Tomkins whilst in Heat 2B it was Harrison Skerrett recording a well deserved win ahead of Turbull and Das. The Lock “Lockout” was growing momentum in Heat 3A ahead of Jacob Foley and Tomkins again in 3rd place.  Harrison was back on top in Heat 3B to win ahead of Spitzbarth and Kallen Hall.  Lock turned up the wick in the Darwin Title Feature race for Junior Sedans and romped home ahead of Spitzbarth in second and Jessica Foley recording a very fine 3rd place.

AMCA Nationals – NSW flyer Shane Newstead had a very dominant night to win Heats 2 and 3 along with the Feature Race.  Jeffery Tiedeman flew out of the gates to record the Heat 1 race win ahead of the rapidly improving first year driver Deegan Sherwood with the wily veteran Jimmy Keane home in 3rd place.  Heat 2 went to Newstead with Tiedeman and Sherwood battling out the minor placings. Tiedeman and Keane followed home Newstead in Heat 3 whilst it was Newstead to thump home the advantage in the Feature race ahead of Sherwood and Keane.

A big night of action as the focus is now turning to the Wingless Sprintcars and their Duel in the North on the 29th July.